Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey members, newbie here, with a bit of an issue and potentially a warning for other members.

I'm not a massive car guy, but I love driving. I had chosen the ST having not known much about the earlier models because it was the most powerful, best-value, new car I could find for the dollar here in Australia. I bought it new because I work for myself and it's easier to lease it. When I test drove it, I had a great time, and loved the car. The dealer showed me the wheel nut lock key in the glove box and said to be careful about losing or breaking it because it might cost about $100 to replace.

I only ever needed to use it myself twice, but a tyre shop obviously needed to use it to replace two tyres. I didn't realise this would be a problem later on.

Tire Automotive tire Wheel Auto part Rim

(apologies for the carbon filth)

While changing a tyre (by hand mostly, and slight pressure from foot), the key snapped in half. It's highly likely that it was weakened by an air gun or something. Luckily that tyre was on, however, one of the front tyres had a slow leak, which I was afraid to try and deal with if it turned out I couldn't actually get it, or any of the other tyres off. I went to a tyre repair shop and they said they were afraid to touch it, in case they broke the lug and were liable to pay for it all.

So I called up the parts department at the dealership I bought it from. They revealed it would cost about $100-150 for a replacement key, however, they also then revealed (potentially accidentally) that the company that made the lock nut key had gone out of business, and wouldn't be able to replace the part.