Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there I'm new to the ST and I'm curious what you all would recommend for an aftermarket BOV?

·
Registered
816 Posts
Depends on your preference. Best is a relative term. I just purchased the Tial because I do not want it to be super loud. Just loud enough to hear it with the windows down

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
Boomba Racing for a nice loud OEM style BBV replacement..

OR

A CPE Exhale kit, with a TiAL bov...

Also, be sure to check out some youtube vid's and take your pick!!

Sound is subjective. What may sound good to me, may not sound good to you.

·
Registered
420 Posts
Unless you are going hardcore with your car (big turbo, etc), you don't really need a true blow off valve.

I run a turbosmart 50/50 recirculation valve, more practical for anything less than big turbo. If you don't know, it vents 50% of the boost on when you let off the throttle to atmosphere and 50% back to the inlet side of the turbo. This is to allow the turbo to spool faster when getting back into the throttle.

The only reason why a BOV or Recirculation valve is necessary is if you are running more boost than stock. If you run more boost than stock with the stock by pass valve, you will sent too much boost back into the turbo when it isn't ready and could potentially damage it.

It doesn't hurt to have the turbosmart when you are at stock boost, if you just want the noise. Which is adjustable on the turbosmart set up.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have the turbosmart as well. If you read around on the forums you will find out that the blow off will sound off all the time. For me, the turbosmart is a great in between when it comes to the blow off valves. Definitely snaps necks.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I love my Turbosmart, if I ever go big turbo I will a different one with new pipes but the Turbosmart does the trick for now.

·
Registered
224 Posts