Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im still new to autocrossing a fwd setup. Im in GS class, Re71R tires and oem brakes, oem suspension. under firmer braking situations I notice the front end wanting to pull sort of like a torque steer effect. Just wondering, short of a front lsd, what has been effective in reducing this effect for you folks that autocross? Thanks.

·
Registered
926 Posts
I was a huge fan of trail braking. After going to the Starting Line school, I'm not as much any more.

Start doing all of your braking in as straight of a line as possible where possible. For me with the amount of control inputs that are required, I learned to just accept that there is going to be some pulling and tugging of the wheel with the car wanting to go in a particular direction and adapted accordingly. Some of the places we as autocrossers have to frequent to be able to autocross we won't be getting the best of surfaces to begin with.

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I still have to remind myself this isnt an awd car.lol. Last car was an evo 8. ACD race flash, Upgraded TRE rear 1.5 way diff., and a laundry list of upgraded suspension parts. It was very balanced setup, and you just point the car where you want it to go. it compensated alot for driver mistakes, lol.

·
Registered
63 Posts
I've never notice odd braking behavior on mine (stock brakes). Have you driven any other FoSTs to compare? Is ABS active when you feel the pulling?

·
Registered
49 Posts
I've never notice odd braking behavior on mine (stock brakes). Have you driven any other FoSTs to compare? Is ABS active when you feel the pulling?
Same here with stock pads or Hawk 30s.