Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to owning a st just picked up a 2017 st2 two weeks ago. At what mileage should I wait to flash it? I also was wondering what tune to go with, I know mountune, stratified, and fswerks seem to be the big three to choose from. Which one would you recommend? I am still 100% stock but was going to start with just a stage 1 tune.

·
Registered
455 Posts
I am new to owning a st just picked up a 2017 st2 two weeks ago. At what mileage should I wait to flash it? I also was wondering what tune to go with, I know mountune, stratified, and fswerks seem to be the big three to choose from. Which one would you recommend? I am still 100% stock but was going to start with just a stage 1 tune.
Are you worried about retaining a warranty?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
23 Posts
I will say if you didnt want to go with a cobb, torrie from sct unleashed ia a phenomenal tuner. He is tuning my big turbo 2016 st3. I had a cobb, but i liked his tunes better. One of the best out there.

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
I cant speak for the others, but I have been pretty happy with my stage 1 tune from FSWerks. Im also generally picky, so if the tune would have induced any weird nuances with the car I would have ditched it. None whatsoever though, and idle has smoothed out over the stock tune.

IMHO, getting a tune is the best bang for the buck for power upgrade. If your worried about warranty, just unmarry the tune a few weeks before you take it in to the dealer and you will be fine.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah the warranty would be nice to keep thats why I was looking into mountunes stage 1. But if just unmarring the tune before servicing reinstates the warranty then that's a option too.

·
Registered
1,284 Posts