Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! So I'm new to the AutoX scene, I've never actually been to one but my friends have done it and I've heard so much about how well ST's can do, I picked up an interest into trying it out. I could use any kind of advice, tips, do's and do not's, favorite mods for autocross, etc. I've been taking a peak through the forums, but there are so many posts. What are your experiences with auto crossing the ST? Any troubles? Is there anything I should mod/would be helpful?

·
Registered
76 Posts
I'm not sure what class you'll be in with those mods, but for your first time I wouldn't worry about it as chances are you won't be competitive anyway. You should be totally fine for your first event with a stock car. If you get more seriously into it later you might want to change your brake pads and tires, but leave them for now. You may want to research what tire pressure to use. That'll depend on tires and the surface you're running on and maybe the temperature on the day of the event. I would suggest asking more experienced drivers what they are running for pressure. If you can bring a pump or compressor and a good tire gauge that would help. Or borrow them if you don't have your own.

Take lots of water, sunscreen and a hat if it's going to be sunny. Wear shoes that are good for walking as you'll do a lot of that on your course walks. If those shoes aren't good for driving then bring some different shoes for driving. If there's any chance of rain bring waterproofs. Take food with you or check to see if they have food at the event or somewhere nearby for lunch.