Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All, I'll be purchasing a set of tires for autocross shortly and I'm trying to decide between the RS4 and the RE71R that everyone seems to like. I'm new to AutoX and I need a setup to replace the all season tires that came with the car so I'm trying to choose a 17 inch setup that will serve me well. I'm not necessarily looking for the setup that will produce the fastest times, as the driver I'll likely be the limiting factor, not the tires. Car is completely stock for now and I'll be running in GS.

From what I've been able to find it seems like the RS4 might last a bit longer whereas the RE71R will have a bit more grip to start with and throughout its useful life. Anyone have any personal experience with both or heard input from others who have run them?

Also, I'm trying to decide between the stock 235 width and 245 and 255. 255 seems massive for an 8" wheel. Are there any downsides to running a tire that wide? Any issues with fender clearance/rubbing?

·
Registered
926 Posts
Hey All, I'll be purchasing a set of tires for autocross shortly and I'm trying to decide between the RS4 and the RE71R that everyone seems to like. I'm new to AutoX and I need a setup to replace the all season tires that came with the car so I'm trying to choose a 17 inch setup that will serve me well. I'm not necessarily looking for the setup that will produce the fastest times, as the driver I'll likely be the limiting factor, not the tires. Car is completely stock for now and I'll be running in GS.

From what I've been able to find it seems like the RS4 might last a bit longer whereas the RE71R will have a bit more grip to start with and throughout its useful life. Anyone have any personal experience with both or heard input from others who have run them?