Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to this car/forum but not new to cars in general.

picked up a CPO 2017 focus st1 and i love most of it but hate the stereo. to be fair i hated the seats and the stereo in the st2 and st3 so i figured why spend the extra money?

anyways, it's been a while since i did any audio upgrades so i wanted to run my future setup passed experienced folks

here's my thoughts on audio upgrade:

audiocontrol lc2i
jbl gto609c
some sort of 150w x 2 amp (pioneer seems to have a decent one for cheap with the GM-A5702, maybe a massive audio ex2???)
fatmat/dynamat/second skin for the doors
stock rear speakers still powered by stock radio for ambiance

in hatch:
soundqubed HDS3.112 dual 2 ohm(conveniently went on sale today)
soundqubed q1-1200.2 amp (wired to 1 ohm) (also on sale)
2 cubic foot box (hopefully birch if i can find it, if not ill get MDF) tuned to around 35hz
small/medium gel cell battery
biggest sized amp cable i can run without drilling holes in things, probably 4awg.

thoughts?

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
doesn't sound too bad of a setup for the price, only a couple of issues I would think about.

first that pioneer amp is a lot of power for those speakers, so you have be very careful and keep it turned down. those speakers are rated at 90w RMS and that amp puts out 150wx2 @ 4 ohm and 240wx2 @ 2 ohm. those speaker have a 3 ohm impedance so the pioneer would be outputting somewhere in between those power outputs.