Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2016 st. I have the base model without the double din. I was wondering if anyone has found a double din installation kit yet? I see them for the 2012-2013 st.. but I have a different dash.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
Just re-use the stock HU. You can add SAT Radio to it, otherwise it's low S/N works well.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
154 Posts
I kept the stock head unit for now and got a line-out inverter that taps into your rear door speakers and gives you the auxiliary hook up for the amplifier. but if you want to go full aftermarket, scosche makes a much nicer double din replacement dash than metra's, but those are about the only 2 options...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
People like to steal Kenwood, Alpine, Pioneer double din units.

For not much more than a Premier level Pioneer Double Din with Navigation, you can get whatever factory ACM you want and get any features you want.

You can go from the 4" screen with nothing to the 8" screen with everything even on-screen climate controls. He can change the stock boot screen to the Euro market ST boot splash as well.

The strength of the stock ST1 radio is that everything is integrated into your steering wheel and you have basic voice command as well. There's no sound processing going on either, so you are free to install a simple LOC all the way up to whatever DSP you want to run.

As the video states, you need a different ACM, antenna and you get Sirius. He has to enable the extra Sirius menu but it's all there. One the thing stopping me from getting an ST1 was I couldn't get Sirius which I have been using since 2006.

I love Sync 3 but don't like the Sony DSP/Amp work-a-rounds. Waiting on the Rockford-Fosgate solution so I can re-use my Alpine V9.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,215 Posts
People like to steal Kenwood, Alpine, Pioneer double din units.

For not much more than a Premier level Pioneer Double Din with Navigation, you can get whatever factory ACM you want and get any features you want.

You can go from the 4" screen with nothing to the 8" screen with everything even on-screen climate controls. He can change the stock boot screen to the Euro market ST boot splash as well.

The strength of the stock ST1 radio is that everything is integrated into your steering wheel and you have basic voice command as well. There's no sound processing going on either, so you are free to install a simple LOC all the way up to whatever DSP you want to run.

As the video states, you need a different ACM, antenna and you get Sirius. He has to enable the extra Sirius menu but it's all there. One the thing stopping me from getting an ST1 was I couldn't get Sirius which I have been using since 2006.

I love Sync 3 but don't like the Sony DSP/Amp work-a-rounds. Waiting on the Rockford-Fosgate solution so I can re-use my Alpine V9.
Is a Rockford-Fosgate solution in the works? This sony system is a joke and hopefully Ford never uses them again for anything, their truck system is absolute garbage too and just as hard to work around.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
Is a Rockford-Fosgate solution in the works? This sony system is a joke and hopefully Ford never uses them again for anything, their truck system is absolute garbage too and just as hard to work around.
First Q of 2017 -

Rockford Fosgate® -
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,215 Posts
Thanks for the link. I struggle with stereo stuff but have been trying to wrap my head around things, but with this you would still want a better amp right? Or does this Rockford DSR dual function?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,699 Posts
it will be a combo integration and sound processing piece. you will still need a separate amp.

the key here is that the OEM radio sends out a non fading stereo output in to the Sony amp. then over data, the OEM radio controls all of the amp. everything from volume level to things like fade and balance. this is why unless you are using a sound processor with its own volume knob (the dash mounted volume knob and the steering wheel controls don't work) you have to keep the factory amp and integrate with it. the DSR1 says it will be able to get that pure signal coming out of the radio before it gets to the Sony amp and gets separated and processed. then using a built in Maestro CAN module, it can read all of the data controls the radio sends over the CAN bus and then allow you to use the volume knob and steering wheel controls again. in some of what little info has been released about it, they also claim that they can change parts of the system to do things like add a subwoofer level adjustment right into the factory settings of the radio.

best part is that they will be offering T harnesses for them so they should be plug and play with factory connectors right in the back at the amp location. I'm really hoping that they make it so that the OEM amp can be fully removed.


I've used other Maestro parts before like the RR or their steering wheel control modules and they really do a great job. using ADS to do all of the CAN and other software stuff seems to really be the way to go. they are just getting so good with what they can do with the cars data bus.



as for the OP, I haven't seen any dash kits made for 2015+ and to be honest, the ones I've seen so far for the 12-14 are the main reason I made sure to get the better radio and then just integrate with that. the metra and scosche kits just did not look good at all and the buttons on the metra one are terrible for every other kit of theirs I've used. the buttons are spungy and some times not very responsive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,215 Posts
it will be a combo integration and sound processing piece. you will still need a separate amp.

the key here is that the OEM radio sends out a non fading stereo output in to the Sony amp. then over data, the OEM radio controls all of the amp. everything from volume level to things like fade and balance. this is why unless you are using a sound processor with its own volume knob (the dash mounted volume knob and the steering wheel controls don't work) you have to keep the factory amp and integrate with it. the DSR1 says it will be able to get that pure signal coming out of the radio before it gets to the Sony amp and gets separated and processed. then using a built in Maestro CAN module, it can read all of the data controls the radio sends over the CAN bus and then allow you to use the volume knob and steering wheel controls again. in some of what little info has been released about it, they also claim that they can change parts of the system to do things like add a subwoofer level adjustment right into the factory settings of the radio.

best part is that they will be offering T harnesses for them so they should be plug and play with factory connectors right in the back at the amp location. I'm really hoping that they make it so that the OEM amp can be fully removed.


I've used other Maestro parts before like the RR or their steering wheel control modules and they really do a great job. using ADS to do all of the CAN and other software stuff seems to really be the way to go. they are just getting so good with what they can do with the cars data bus.



as for the OP, I haven't seen any dash kits made for 2015+ and to be honest, the ones I've seen so far for the 12-14 are the main reason I made sure to get the better radio and then just integrate with that. the metra and scosche kits just did not look good at all and the buttons on the metra one are terrible for every other kit of theirs I've used. the buttons are spungy and some times not very responsive.
Wow thanks for that, it did indeed clear up some of my confusion. Great first post!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
it will be a combo integration and sound processing piece. you will still need a separate amp.

the key here is that the OEM radio sends out a non fading stereo output in to the Sony amp. then over data, the OEM radio controls all of the amp. everything from volume level to things like fade and balance. this is why unless you are using a sound processor with its own volume knob (the dash mounted volume knob and the steering wheel controls don't work) you have to keep the factory amp and integrate with it. the DSR1 says it will be able to get that pure signal coming out of the radio before it gets to the Sony amp and gets separated and processed. then using a built in Maestro CAN module, it can read all of the data controls the radio sends over the CAN bus and then allow you to use the volume knob and steering wheel controls again. in some of what little info has been released about it, they also claim that they can change parts of the system to do things like add a subwoofer level adjustment right into the factory settings of the radio.

best part is that they will be offering T harnesses for them so they should be plug and play with factory connectors right in the back at the amp location. I'm really hoping that they make it so that the OEM amp can be fully removed.


I've used other Maestro parts before like the RR or their steering wheel control modules and they really do a great job. using ADS to do all of the CAN and other software stuff seems to really be the way to go. they are just getting so good with what they can do with the cars data bus.



as for the OP, I haven't seen any dash kits made for 2015+ and to be honest, the ones I've seen so far for the 12-14 are the main reason I made sure to get the better radio and then just integrate with that. the metra and scosche kits just did not look good at all and the buttons on the metra one are terrible for every other kit of theirs I've used. the buttons are spungy and some times not very responsive.
The exact reason I went ST2 (almost ST3), the kits are terrible. The workaround for the Sony systems do work, even if a bit cobbled together. As I said my friend has been a professional installer for 25 years, does demo cars for the 12v industry.

He used a Audison Bit-Ten

I was excited about the JL Audio FiX-86 as it does somethings better than the Bit-One, but turned off by resistor packs.

If this thing does everything RF says it does, then I'm down. The price is reasonable and plenty of RF dealers not that many Audison dealers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,699 Posts
exactly, I myself have been considering either a BitTen or the JL FiX along with the Twk, but was waiting to see how Audio Control's new DSP would work out as it has a lot of real nice features, but being if this Rockford piece work anywhere near as well as they say it will, then its a no-brainier at half the cost and grabbing the signal before the OEM amp can mess with it, then you remove some steps to have to fix the sound. all that can only mean better sound!





Wow thanks for that, it did indeed clear up some of my confusion. Great first post!
thank you, I've been searching around here for almost the past year while I was thinking about possibly getting an ST and just joined last night after getting home with one! I'm excited to learn more about this new (to me) platform while helping with what I can in the areas that I have already learned.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top