Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently at Stage 1 with just a Green filter and Cobb AP, but will be buying a full intake & intercooler soon to go to Stage 2. My question is, I like the overness quietness of my stock exhaust since it's a daily driver and I have a family, but do I really need a catback to go to Stage 3, or will just a downpipe suffice? I'd love to keep the car as quiet/stealthy as possible, and I thought the stock CBE is pretty high flow as it is, but maybe not enough for Stage 3?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Currently I have a MP275, and am looking for for a catted downpipe and a tune when my warranty expires, but I think I'll keep my stock exhaust.

I'm not an expert and am happy to be told I'm wrong, but from what I understand the stock exhaust doesn't really become an issue until +300hp.

What even is Stage 3 anyway? Build the car you want and get a tune for the parts

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
593 Posts
I'm currently at Stage 1 with just a Green filter and Cobb AP, but will be buying a full intake & intercooler soon to go to Stage 2. My question is, I like the overness quietness of my stock exhaust since it's a daily driver and I have a family, but do I really need a catback to go to Stage 3, or will just a downpipe suffice? I'd love to keep the car as quiet/stealthy as possible, and I thought the stock CBE is pretty high flow as it is, but maybe not enough for Stage 3?
You're fine with just a downpipe for stage 3. Go for a catted DP if you really are trying to keep it stealthy as possible (keeps the noise similar to stock)

Currently I have a MP275
Since you're all Mountune, their turboback exhaust is very quiet and more free flowing all together just FYI. Definitely not necessary, but the Mountune exhaust is most similar to stock for sure. You can stick with their MR300 tune at that point if you wish.

·
Registered
386 Posts