Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
425 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning to change plugs on my 2007 Explorer 4.6L V8. How do you set the gap on these type of plugs? Rockauto says the gap is preset and no need to set them.

I think it's great the gap is preset; however, the boxes were pretty banged up when I received them. I'd like to confirm the gap is accurately set to .045.

·
Registered
123 Posts
I'm planning to change plugs on my 2007 Explorer 4.6L V8. How do you set the gap on these type of plugs? Rockauto says the gap is preset and no need to set them.

I think it's great the gap is preset; however, the boxes were pretty banged up when I received them. I'd like to confirm the gap is accurately set to .045.

To confirm their current gap, you can buy a gap tool from any auto store for like $8. I have no experience adjusting gaps from those kind of plugs but check the gap first. Usually a banged-up box won't affect the plugs so most likely you should be fine.

·
Super Moderator
8,056 Posts

Oh geez! Those plugs , iirc, are know for breaking when removing. Or maybe its the larger V8, i remember how horrific the plugs on an expedition were to remove. Like scary, and a constant fight.

Thats tough to check maybe a set of dial calipers would be ideal i think

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Oh geez! Those plugs , iirc, are know for breaking when removing. Or maybe its the larger V8, i remember how horrific the plugs on an expedition were to remove. Like scary, and a constant fight.

Thats tough to check maybe a set of dial calipers would be ideal i think
yeah, you might be able to get a feeler gauge in there, or at least the corner of one.

This is the infamous spark plug:
https://www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2014/04/ford-triton-v8-engine-spark-plug-tsb/index.htm

·
Super Moderator
8,056 Posts

·
Premium Member
425 Posts
Discussion Starter #7