Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I have a full bolt on , solid mount , ngk 1 step colder plugs & a stratified flash tune on my 13 focus st , I read up on their website to gap plugs at 0.25-0.26 so I gapped mine to 0.25 since they widen over time. Car seems to be running great but people are telling me that’s way too tight & I should gap around 30ish since it’s only a flash tune but I’m new to all of this so I’d like to hear other suggestions, thanks.

·
Administrator
12,717 Posts
Hey guys I have a full bolt on , solid mount , ngk 1 step colder plugs & a stratified flash tune on my 13 focus st , I read up on their website to gap plugs at 0.25-0.26 so I gapped mine to 0.25 since they widen over time. Car seems to be running great but people are telling me that’s way too tight & I should gap around 30ish since it’s only a flash tune but I’m new to all of this so I’d like to hear other suggestions, thanks.
.026" is what you want. .025" will be fine. .030" is not my recomendation ever.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
.026" is what you want. .025" will be fine. .030" is not my recomendation ever.
So 0.25 is safe ? Cause I’m assuming it will widen out to a 0.26 eventually, I just kept it in that realm but they told me not to run it that tight unless it’s a custom tune so I’m just dumbfounded lol

·
Administrator
12,717 Posts
So 0.25 is safe ? Cause I’m assuming it will widen out to a 0.26 eventually, I just kept it in that realm but they told me not to run it that tight unless it’s a custom tune so I’m just dumbfounded lol
.25" is a quarter inch. Thats friggin huge. We gap at .026".

Who are these "people"?

Shiz, we have an entire sticky for spark plugs.

One I wrote...

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
.25" is a quarter inch. Thats friggin huge. We gap at .026".

Who are these "people"?

Shiz, we have an entire sticky for spark plugs.

One I wrote...