Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I found a 2014 Ford Focus ST with the st3 package for sale, it has 29,000 miles on it. However, the big caveat is the rebuilt title, which is from a collision. I have talked to the dealership as well as the mechanic who checked everything out, and there are no perceivable problems. The car is being offered for $12,495. Is this a good deal? Should I jump for it? Please help, I am a college student who can't afford to make a bad purchase.

EDIT: Here is the link to the cars.com page: https://www.cars.com/vehicledetail/detail/699250632/overview/

·
Registered
2,118 Posts
Is there a link to the ST in question? What was the extent of the damage to cause it being rebuilt?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
1,152 Posts
what year is it too?

IF its for sale at a dealership it should have a warranty.

·
Registered
371 Posts
That is a ST2 package, it does not have full leather seats. plus you can also tell by the E-brake setup.

Hopefully it was something minor and nothing that affected the frame. That is one hell of a good deal tho!!! Good luck with the buy!

·
Registered
134 Posts
My opinion, not intelligent. You already said you're a college student who can't afford a bad purchase, so listen to yourself and buy a cheap Honda for half the price or less while you're in school. Once you graduate and get a job, then look for a toy like this. You don't need even a $12k car while you don't have a real job and you're teaching yourself poor money management decisions. This is coming from someone who has made their share of bad decisions in the past due to desire for a car.

Pros:
Get an ST for cheap that might be very well rebuilt and in great shape.

Cons:
More expensive than you need to spend either way as admitted by yourself
Could end up with never ending problems and be a money pit