Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

2017 Kona Blue ST1
Discussion Starter #1

I have been pouring over the electrical schematics for the 2013 - 2018 focus (because I'm sick in the head) comparing the differences. I then got to thinking (my first mistake) we have so many similarities between model years with very minor changes why do we have such a difficult time identifying these items. Yes Ford supplies us with a gray scale sudo x-ray generalized location map but it is as for the most part the picture is about as clear as the days of my youth trying to watch a scrambled adult film Cinemax wondering is that a nipple or an elbow 馃.

Kinda showing my age with that one, but kids nowadays will never know the struggle we had.

So as a beginning to this lengthy process I scoured the interwebz is search for parts. I stumbled upon an engine harness for a 2018 ST that had damage to the one of the PCM connectors on ebay. After a back and forth with the seller I ended of paying the asking price because I'm an idiot. Apparently you cannot haggle more than a few times before it locks you out and forces you to pay full price. Oh well, lesson learned.

Now that I have a damaged harness and a lighter bank account I went in search for the PCM connector to make the repair to said harness. You know the one, it doesn't have a part number and Ford won't sell it to you (or a dealer) because of "liability reasons". This even after I explained that it was for educational reasons, but they were nice enough to sell me an entire harness for full MSRP. Gee thanks guys your awesome...

So this is my plan. It won't be a quick process as my goal will require an immense amount research, I believe that the end result will be worth it. I would ask that moving forward should anyone experience a failure of a sensor, wiring, module please don't throw it away unless it is obvious crushed or deformed beyond recognition.