Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Pepper's original adventures, before STH upgrades, are in Plenty of runs - G Street | Ford Focus ST Forum

Pepper's Totals
16 runs in STH trim
$4.25 per run in entry & membership fees for 2021 season
25613 miles on odometer (~2200 miles are not related to autocrosses)
25.1 mpg for 2021 season

Some trepidation about how Pepper would perform in the new config as she wasn't ready for this weekend until Thursday and it was raining, so I held back. Then it rained more on Friday. Bridge City Autosports held a school on Saturday at PIR and, as an instructor, I got some play time at the end of the day. Called it quits after 9 runs as I was becoming fatigued, yet learned enough that I was pleased with Pepper's conversion to STH.

Saturday

I rushed into my first run and didn't check rear tire pressures. Drag race to the first turn and spun 270 degrees! Okay, tiptoed to the finish and dropped rear tire pressures... subsequent runs were not so dramatic and I settled on 33F/31R. As I got used to the changes and optimized the tire pressures, my times were settling into what felt like a competitive range. Cold rear tire syndrome did not appear and the temp was about 50F.

Quaiffe differential doesn't seem to provide all the traction, but the brakes are much cooler than without the Quaiffe. Apart from launching, I did not encounter any wheelspin. Zip, zilch, none!

Sunday