Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did a change to Motul DCTF tonight in my 14 ST and was curious if an overfill is possible/detrimental and if it sounds like I really overfilled. The car was pretty level but was hard to tell since the wheel was off and jack still on the pinch weld. Anyway, I pumped pretty much all of two liters of fluid into the fill hole. I then put the fill plug in while the fluid was still slowing trickling out into my pan. I poured the used oil back into the Motul containers and the used oil plus whatever trickled out into the drain pan filled the two containers full.

It is my first time doing a MTF change so I just want to make sure I will be fine before I put the wheel and shield back on. Should I put the car back down the level and pop the fill plug? Please let me know. I tend to overthink things so I just wanted to check with everyone here first! Thanks!

·
Registered
78 Posts
I did a change to Motul DCTF tonight in my 14 ST and was curious if an overfill is possible/detrimental and if it sounds like I really overfilled. The car was pretty level but was hard to tell since the wheel was off and jack still on the pinch weld. Anyway, I pumped pretty much all of two liters of fluid into the fill hole. I then put the fill plug in while the fluid was still slowing trickling out into my pan. I poured the used oil back into the Motul containers and the used oil plus whatever trickled out into the drain pan filled the two containers full.

It is my first time doing a MTF change so I just want to make sure I will be fine before I put the wheel and shield back on. Should I put the car back down the level and pop the fill plug? Please let me know. I tend to overthink things so I just wanted to check with everyone here first! Thanks!