Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody not use the oil pan on the bottom front of the car? I did not have one on my last car (chevy aveo) and it did not seem to effect anything. The pan is just such a pain to take on and off and time consuming and it'd be so much easier if I didn't have to have it on. I do not see any problems leaving it off. Just seeing if anyone else has done the same thing:)

·
Premium Member
13,883 Posts
Left mine off, serves no purpose

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I doubt that. The engineers at Ford wouldn't have put it there if there wasn't a purpose. However I'm not an engineer so and haven't seen anything that states exactly why it's there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

·
Vendor
104 Posts
Realistically its there for aerodynamics. Other than that, useless piece of cardboard... speed 3 doesnt have one, same platform

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
Realistically its there for aerodynamics. Other than that, useless piece of cardboard... speed 3 doesnt have one, same platform

The Speed3 was on the C1 platform, the Focus is now on the Global C platform that replaced the C1

·
Registered
5,568 Posts
Its there to keep debris out and work with the grille shutters for the MPG rating. There is no other purpose for it. Your car will run much cooler with it off. Get rid of it during the summer and put it back on in winter if you need to keep snow out. Mine went in the trash when I did my first oil change.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Yes I am about to do my first oil change and probably won't be putting it back on... got first 3 oil changes free so haven't had to do it yet. The engine cover (drip pan) will probably not be going back on.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·