Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I just picked up my 2017 Focus ST3 last week and I've absolutely fallen in love with it :)
I am a noob though, so I figured this would be the best source for my dumb questions :LOL:

Every time I start the car in the morning, then step back out and shut the door, the horn beeps twice.
I thought it just meant that the doors automatically lock because the fob is outside the car (still in my pocket) but I tried it with a buddy and I don't think the doors lock when the horn beeps. It just kinda beeps for no reason?
This is also important when I pull into a parking lot - maybe I'm going into the store for 2 min so I leave it running, but when the horn beeps twice I feel like I'm advertising to everyone that the car is running and unattended. :rolleyes:
I know this can easily be avoided by just leaving the fob in the car but I'm always afraid they're going to get locked inside the car somehow.
(I've never owned a car this new before either :geek:)

Is there a setting or something I can change to have it not beep twice when I get out?
Do the doors actually lock when it beeps twice and I'm just an idiot?
It's a very small, easily avoidable situation, but I was just wondering if there was a way to change this annoying setting.
Thanks

·
Registered
15 TB Focus ST3
449 Posts
You my friend are going to need to look at forscan programming. You can eliminate double honk upon exit via Forscan.

Reactions: Skykri and Hakumai

·
Super Moderator
9,007 Posts
That's the proximity alert letting you, and everyone else that the fob is not in the vehicle; it's a "feature" on the facelift cars. The doors do not lock, it's just an alert. I believe it can be shut off using Forscan.

Reactions: Hakumai

·
Registered
68 Posts