Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 2018 Ford Focus ST with the ST2 package. I have been loving the car so far. I am a big fan of technology and understand that with updates can come new features. Because I am new to this technology, I am not fully understanding some of the threads I have been reading and was hoping someone could help explain things a little more. Currently, my car has Sync 3 version 3.0 build 17276. I have done some searches and this seems to be an older build. At least I see older posts about this build. I have tried connecting to my wifi and checking for updates. I have tried the USB method. I have tried doing a master reset, but no updates. Am I really on the latest build?

I have seen people talking about using sync 3 version 3.3 or something like that in other threads. Are they installing versions of sync that are meant for other vehicles, but unofficially compatible with the Focus ST? Is there any extra features in those builds that make it worth trying to install them?

Is the only way to get the ST performance splash screens to permanently show up by using the special software I've seen and a Bluetooth OBD II plug?

·
Registered
499 Posts
Cliff- I have a 2017 that I purchased new, and I have done one or two updates but am on version 3.0 as well. Both updates that I installed were attempted via wifi, but neither seemed to progress, so they were installed via USB stick method, which worked flawlessly (for me). There may be a later version that works, but 3.0 is the latest (according to Ford, at least for my region (Northeastern USA).