Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, FNG here! Looking to get a '16 ST this week. Just checking in. I'm not new to forums, nor turning wrenches. I've had several Mustangs over the years and a few of them new. Lots of experience with racing motorcycles, mainly Ducati. Did all my own maintenance on those too. But, I'm new to the Focus so I'm sure I'll screw up and ask the same old questions, LOL! Picked the ST as a good balance between having a hot rod and an economical, practical car for commuting and road trips and such. Just me and my two kids.

I want to do some mods and tinker with it, but I probably won't go overboard with any major engine mods and such.

So I'll start off with this question while I read and search...What's the basics?? What are those straight out of the gate starter mods (including free ones) that everyone does?? So far I know I should start off with an oil catch can. I'll look into catback exhaust, and I've read a little about some engine mount change??? I don't know diddly squat about turbo's; this is my first turbo, 4 cyl, direct injection car ever! So I'll take any recommendations on the engine side of mods, like intercooler and stuff like that. I know with most cars, CAI's are a waste. So let me know what you think and where to start. Thanks everyone

·
Super Moderator
9,548 Posts
Hey guys, FNG here! Looking to get a '16 ST this week. Just checking in. I'm not new to forums, nor turning wrenches. I've had several Mustangs over the years and a few of them new. Lots of experience with racing motorcycles, mainly Ducati. Did all my own maintenance on those too. But, I'm new to the Focus so I'm sure I'll screw up and ask the same old questions, LOL! Picked the ST as a good balance between having a hot rod and an economical, practical car for commuting and road trips and such. Just me and my two kids.