Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello forum, I went from a base model 2012 with the horrible 6 speed auto to the fully loaded ST. I have had it for a month and have 1200 miles on it. So far I really like the feel of the car. It is far better built than the SE was. The 2012 SE vibrated really bad just at idle. I have already got the modding bug. I have had a muffler shop fabricate and install a unique exhaust. I have ordered JBR short shift arm: Focus ST short Shift Arm [FST-SSA] - $89.95 : James Barone Racing, Aftermarket Performance.
Shift plate solid bushings, and harmonic balance delete. I am hesitant on the balancer delete due to warranty. I bit about myself, I am an computer engineer with a background in propulsion systems, unmaned aerial systems, motor controls, electromagnetic design, embedded systems software and hardware. I used to work in the steel industry as a weld and material quality tester, I also used to professional tig weld on an exhaust bellow manufacturing plant. Related to automotive, I have worked with the DOE and GM in hybrid technology development. I have an extensive knowledge of the CAN bus (OBDII operates on this), general physics, electrical engineering, and a little here and there.

I really like the feel and design of the ST.
Really like the:
Headlights, HID and following capability with LED running lights
Smoothness of engine operation, very little vibration.
Steering assist and variable ratio. The 2012 assist hunted around on the freeway- this one is done right on the ST.
Side mirror blind spot lens (ford common item)
Back up cam, great low light capability.
CONs this far:
Fuel economy 20 average 50/50 highway city. The SE got 29.
Turning circle - I feel it could be smaller.