Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Focus ST

I'm a newbie with a 2015 Focus ST with about 30K. I purchased it second hand. I brought it to the dealer to get a couple of Factory recalls taken care of. At the time (a month or so ago) I didn't know enough to know how little I knew about direct injected turbo engines and to quash my angst about dirty intake valves I had them do a ~ $187.50 squirt through the intake manifold. Since then I figured out it's probably a bad idea to do such a thing where the squirt can wash oil from the turbo turbine bearings and light a pretty big fire around the same area (causing erosion of the turbine) and according to some Ford folks can trash your turbo either right away, in short order or in long order.

My philosophy in life is if you're not voiding a warranty on something you own, you're probably not having as much fun as you can! Think about it for a second. Many folks dread the thought of having to shell out some money and not do what can just be plain be fun, but won't hesitate to gamble their life that their skills are in tune enough to postpone the inevitable when at minimum breaking the legal speed limits and probably more often than should be: breaking the laws of physics!

Anyway I'm in the process of installing a Mountune breather and recirculate. The intake manifold needed to come off. Less than about 1,000 miles since my ~ $187.50 squirt I had a look at my intake valves. I can tell you the $187.50 was a waste of money. I just hope mounting biking with my Fat Bike (BTW fits in the back of my ST with seats down) helps my arteries look somewhat better than those intake valves did.