Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Ford Focus ST3
Joined
·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sounds silly I know but no instructions in the MP275 kit - how do I flash the ECU?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,629 Posts
Plug it into the obd-ii port and key on with the engine off. Then follow the menu prompts for flashing the C346 ST calibration. Should be the same as any other AP except that the calibration is locked vs a normal AP
 

·
Registered
2016 Ford Focus ST3
Joined
·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Plug it into the obd-ii port and key on with the engine off. Then follow the menu prompts for flashing the C346 ST calibration. Should be the same as any other AP except that the calibration is locked vs a normal AP
So with push start - how to "key on" - just push without pressing the clutch?
 

·
Registered
2016 Ford Focus ST3
Joined
·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
thanks - it was stupid easy ;) thanks guys!

put the tune on last night, and went out for a drive in 34F temps - holy crap now I understand why everyone promotes an RMM! Dang!
the tune definitely wakes the car up nicely! :)
 

·
Registered
2016 Ford Focus ST3
Joined
·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
one question, those who mount the AP - i doubt we'll do that - but how do you keep the OBD2 door closed with the cable attached?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
696 Posts
one question, those who mount the AP - i doubt we'll do that - but how do you keep the OBD2 door closed with the cable attached?
You have to pop the OBD-II port out of its hole in the panel. Otherwise, it won't shut. It's an easily reversible modification.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Toadster

·
Registered
2016 Ford Focus ST3
Joined
·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You have to pop the OBD-II port out of its hole in the panel. Otherwise, it won't shut. It's an easily reversible modification.
so you loosen it from where it's mounted to extend through the hole? you'd think the cable makers would have designed a slim OBD2 cable to fit with the door shut...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,558 Posts
so you loosen it from where it's mounted to extend through the hole? you'd think the cable makers would have designed a slim OBD2 cable to fit with the door shut...
No, cause the AP is "generic". Making certain cables for certain car's would just up the cost for the AP for your specific application.

they do however make Left and Right 90deg bend cables if you are nitpicky..
ap3-obdii-cable-left_main.jpg
 

·
Registered
2016 Ford Focus ST3
Joined
·
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
No, cause the AP is "generic". Making certain cables for certain car's would just up the cost for the AP for your specific application.

they do however make Left and Right 90deg bend cables if you are nitpicky..
View attachment 192386
that's cool, I'd pay extra for a slim cable that keeps things tidy :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
I believe a couple of clips are all that hold the port in place, pop them off and zip tie the cable on someplace it won't rattle or vibrate, close the door and Roberts your fathers brother. Why pay extra for something that's super easy to fix. Just my .02$
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
696 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
696 Posts
  • Like
Reactions: Nionetics

·
Super Moderator
2017 Ford Fusion Sport
Joined
·
8,198 Posts
I just suction cup mounted mine to the windshield a few inches above where this one is mounted in this picture and ran my wires behind it and tucked it into the trip down to the first trim panel then through the underside of the dash into the OBDII port. You can see maybe 1 inch more than in this picture and it doesn't have to go through my vents which I found to be odd.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top