Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I have a JBR Rear Sway Bar here waiting to be installed. I decided to buy the Massive End Links which I will install at the same time. Other than these items my 2015 Focus ST suspension is stock. I have never done any suspension work before and can use your advice. What do I need to know about installing the end links and rear sway bar to make my life easier? I want to do it right the first time without any mistakes!

Point me in the right direction....

Thanks,

Brad

·
Registered
2,493 Posts
What you are doing is very simple as far as installs go.

1. Safety first, use jack stands.
2. Remove stock end links. You may want to at least loosen them before the car is in the air as there may be more pressure on the end links. Don't really remember if that's necessary.
3. Unbolt the sway bar mounts from the frame, you will likely need a breaker bar or impact for these, as they are on there good.
4. Adjust your end links to be the same length as stock if the stock suspension geometry is desired (recommended).
5. Grease up your sway bar bushings liberally with white lithium grease.
6. Mount everything back LOOSELY. No particular order here but it's hard to get it all lined up if you tighten something down.
7. Final tightening should be done with car on the ground.

You may want to take before pics so you can compare to after to make sure everything is the same. Also if your RSB is adjustable make sure you read carefully on which adjustment you want and set your end links there.

Also remember if you lower the car in the future, you need to adjust hose end links shorter.

·
Premium Member
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Lou,

Thanks for the response.

A few questions:

1. I don't own a breaker bar, though I know I should buy one. Any recommendations?