Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up a 14 st3 and immediately ordered the cobb stage 1 kit. But would it be safe to run the stage 2 tune for a short period of time?

·
Registered
198 Posts
I'm no expert on tuning compared to many on the forum but...... I personally would not run the stage 2 tune until I installed an upgraded intercooler. You aren't giving up much in power sticking with the stage 1. But you are taking some risk running the stage 2 without all the supporting mods. I ran stage 1 until installing my intercooler. The intercooler upgrade (any of the aftermarket brands.....Levels,Steeda,Mountune,Depo....) allowing consistent power is well worth the wait.

·
Registered
393 Posts
I wouldn't. I tried that when i was stage 1. Temps got crazy high and it had a lot of turbo flutter. Now that i have depos fmic the temps dont go up very often at most 10 degrees after a few pulls but drop down to ambient almost instantly. Plus only flutter now at low rpms

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
it looks like the guy who owned it before me did some upgrades to the car (air Filter, Mangnaflow cat back exhaust). im not looking to run it constantly, i was just wondering if it would hurt it if i did a few pulls on it... i read some where some guys were blowing off charge pipes on the tune, and i don't want to do that

·
Registered
344 Posts
it looks like the guy who owned it before me did some upgrades to the car (air Filter, Mangnaflow cat back exhaust). im not looking to run it constantly, i was just wondering if it would hurt it if i did a few pulls on it... i read some where some guys were blowing off charge pipes on the tune, and i don't want to do that