Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 2013 st with 24k miles on it. got it in september with 20k on it, since i've had it it has intermittently stalled when rolling to a stop at a junction with the clutch down. its only done it a dozen or so times and when i took it into my local dealer they couldn't find anything wrong. other than that it runs fine, seems to idle well accept that occasionally it grumbles when idling. i just checked and there are no outstanding recalls on the car.

any ideas as to what could be causing this? any simple things i should check (i'm no mechanic)?

·
Registered
9,129 Posts
This happens to me due to pulling the clutch out too fast, followed by a "****!" "Restarts vehicle like a noob"

Is hill assist off?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That was my first thought that i was doing something but i haven't stalled any other cars and vans i drive regularly and it stalls before i've had a chance to lift the clutch up. hill start assist is on

·
Registered
463 Posts
My 2014 ST started occasionally stalling when I depressed the clutch on the interstate, in traffic, coming to a light, anytime I decelerated. Sometimes, I had to keep my foot on the gas or the car would die every time. It worsened to only seem to be running the motor when the gas was slightly depressed. It would then spring to life and begin to accelerate.

It did this seemingly at random intervals, and for various amounts of time, and somehow driving 100% normal for a 1300 mile road trip over the Thanksgiving Holiday.

Once I got back to town and issues began again, it threw a CEL finally, and wouldn't stop acting dumb so to the dealer I went.