Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, folks. I'm the new one.

• I need your concentrated knowledge.
  • I have been doing a 2015 Focus ST facelift for 3 years.
  • Stock Turbo. Turbosmart 7psi, JST tune.
I have the following problem.

The Wastegate opens sometimes and sometimes not.

I think I found out that it only works in heat. So when I made some pulls it works again.

I've already checked the small hoses and found nothing. Furthermore I changed the Pierburg pressure converter valve on the turbocharger on suspicion.

I already checked the Turbosmart 7PSI with a compressor and it works as it should and opens and closes.

Slowly I have no more ideas.

Of course it's dangerous because the WG is always closed and then 20-21 PSI at 6000 RPM are applied, which is much too much.

The turbocharger overspins enormously and the engine knocks there also quite strongly.

Could it be that the WG flap is defective and stuck ?

Does anyone have any ideas or tips?

Here's a picture for comparison... it's both the same tune.
WG STUCK.JPG

Greetings

·
Super Moderator
7,114 Posts
Hello, folks. I'm the new one.

• I need your concentrated knowledge.
  • I have been doing a 2015 Focus ST facelift for 3 years.
  • Stock Turbo. Turbosmart 7psi, JST tune.
I have the following problem.

The Wastegate opens sometimes and sometimes not.

I think I found out that it only works in heat. So when I made some pulls it works again.

I've already checked the small hoses and found nothing. Furthermore I changed the Pierburg pressure converter valve on the turbocharger on suspicion.

I already checked the Turbosmart 7PSI with a compressor and it works as it should and opens and closes.

Slowly I have no more ideas.

Of course it's dangerous because the WG is always closed and then 20-21 PSI at 6000 RPM are applied, which is much too much.

The turbocharger overspins enormously and the engine knocks there also quite strongly.