Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This isn't the biggest deal but I'm really debating with myself about mod options and could use some insight about how it all relates to different racing.

At first I had my eye on autox but I am worried that what I want to do to my car in the near future (already added fmic) would bump me to another class that wont allow me to be competitive with my driving abilities.
Upcoming mods I am planning are the AP/custom tune, DP and then Cat back a little later and probably a CAI. These will take me about 6 months since I save where I can and then buy.
After that will be suspension and traction mods hopefully including a LSD.
Further out I hope to go BT.
HP goals are(were) about to the 400whp range.

I have NO experience with real racing such as track or autox. No interest in drag racing at all. I love twisty roads but am careful to only push it so far as I am unwilling to endanger others because I want to play around...

SO, all that info and all I'm wondering is what should I get into given my mod goals? The SCCA rules are not the easiest read but I think I'd be way outclassed having a capable car and not enough experience.
I want to mod this car too and that has its importance to me.

Should I pursue tracking the car OR if I were to autox what would I need to add/remove from my list of mods?

Impatience is my biggest issue. I've been wanting to tune this car since I bought it in July but maybe that needs to wait?

What say you?

·
Registered
530 Posts