Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi this is my first time posting in this forum. I usually search around the forum and I'll usually find the answers that I need.

I have a 2016 focus st. Running stratified tune with cobb catted downpipe and magnaflow cat back exhaust.

I've had this setup for 2 months now and I think it's too loud. I was thinking of removing the resonator right after the downpipe and replace it with 2) vibrant 1141 resonators.

Would this quiet the exhaust down?

I've been having issues with this exhaust due to rubbing noises and droning. I've carefully read through this forum and found ways to fix the issue.

Would removing the resonator after the downpipe and replacing it with 2) vibrant 1141 resonators be worth the money or should I get another exhaust that is a little more quieter.

Amazon.ca sells vibrant 1141 for 124 cdn each. I've asked my local muffler shop, muffler man in burnaby, and they quoted me 200 cdn for labor.

What other exhausts do you guys recommend other than stock would be a bit quieter?

Remus? Miller? Jdl?

Thanks

·
Registered
483 Posts
I've done a lot of reading on this. I have a Magnaflow exhaust and stock DP, but I have a Depo catted DP ready to install. I am not happy with the drone/reverb that the exhaust makes above 3500 rpm. It almost rings your ears. My plan is to put a legit muffler, not a straight threw design, back in the stock location.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have the 3" Cobb exhaust and had the same issue. I installed one of the Vibrant resonators before the Cobb resonator and it made a big difference. It's still loud under full throttle, but the drone is about 90% gone, and much more tolerable.
Before I installed the vibrant resonator, I recorded over 105db at full throttle at about 3500 from the passenger seat. after installing it, I recorded about 90db.

I did not try multiple, has one got to where I could live with it.