Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I just got my new focus st 2014, and my main goal is to improve the sound (hopefully somewhere around the sound of the new AMGs with the popping downshift noise).
Any recommendations?
I am new to car tuning so I don't know many technical terms...

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
392 Posts
lol. Ya I wish we had that sport plus mode with the exhaust popping. They refined it and now they do it more often. First run of the sport plus modes it only really did it in sport plus, and then only every so often. Im trying to improve the sound on mine as well, but not necessarily by wanting just more popping noises. a couple tuners on here can get you the crackle and pops. I believe stratified is one of them.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I have a catless turboback setup, and it typically crackles on decel, and has loud pops on revmatched downshifts. Its definitely a head turner, but the interior does a good job in mitigating a lot of the noise so i really dont get to hear much of it when im driving.

·
Registered
217 Posts
I have a catless turboback setup, and it typically crackles on decel, and has loud pops on revmatched downshifts. Its definitely a head turner, but the interior does a good job in mitigating a lot of the noise so i really dont get to hear much of it when im driving.
Do you have the "crackle and pops" tune? Or is that with just a turbo back exhaust?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
129 Posts
I just had my resonator yanked and the 2.25" neck down replaced with 2.5" straight pipe and my car sounds incredible stock. Just removed my symposer (which I used to like) today because it was interfering with the sound from my exhaust.

I'd recommend starting there and looking at a crackle and pop tune for the rest. Resonator deletes really wake up the sound without adding much drone at all.

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
455 Posts
Hi,