Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having a problem where, due to track days, the outside edges of my tires are wearing out faster than the rest of the tire.

I would like to be able to adjust the camber to set to a more negative angle to help prevent uneven tire wear and potentially gain more grip on the track.

I have no experience at all with adjusting suspension.

I would like to know if adjusting camber is a complex and difficult process full of hassle or not. Like would it be plausible to adjust the camber to a more negative angle for a track day then change it back for daily driving? Or would it require a shop or expensive tools or lots of time to change each time?

I would also like to know what parts would I need to get to allow for more negative camber adjustment. I've seen some coilovers that appear to have camber adjustment. But if I could keep my stock suspension and just add on more negative camber adjustment, that would be preferred. I've looked at the Ground Control camber plates, but I'm not sure if those are compatible to add on to the stock setup or if they are just an add-on for their kit.

·
Registered
414 Posts
You need coilovers. The factory springs are big enough that they leave no room to move to give clearance to add neg camber. I'll be running about -3.5° with mine up front this year. I have the jame barone setup.

Reactions: Maxx

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
You could install RS knuckles and gain -0.8 but to really take advantage of camber on a track day, you need -2 almost -4 deg. And to get that you need coilovers and a camber plate.

No camber plates fit using stock springs or lowering spring. Coilovers is the ONLY option.

·
Registered
2,883 Posts