Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I know its not an ST but I was trying to bleed the brakes on a friend's 2012 Chevy Cruze with a Motive pressure bleeder over the weekend. I bought the pressure bleeder new last week and it's my first time using it. I pressurized the reservoir to 15 PSI and it held steady, then I opened the bleeder screws but was only able to get maybe 6 ounces of fluid out of each caliper before it stopped flowing. Same thing happened on all 4 calipers. I got fed up with it and resorted to pumping the brake pedal with a friend and everything went fine from there.
What's going on? Am I missing something? Now I'm afraid of using the power bleeder again on my ST because I feel like it didn't work and it introduced a bunch of air into the system. Thanks for the help guys!

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You need to make sure to put enough fluid into the container. I usually dump and entire bottle in.

Sent from another garage.
I added a 32oz bottle and then after some trying I added a 2nd one. That's 2 large bottles in the motive bleeder so that can't be the issue...

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The only thing I can think of is if there was an obstruction in the line somewhere but that doesn't seem likely since it's only a 5 year old car and it was hard to get flow on all 4 calipers. However, the front ones did flow a little bit better.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Make sure the line doesn't get kinked. I did noticed with the cowl in place it pushed down on the hose. I took a roll of painters tape and push the cowl up.

Sent from another garage.
I used the bleeder on a chevy cruze where the reservoir is completely exposed and there were no kinks in the line... idk I'll try it again on a different car and see if the results vary.

·
Registered
217 Posts