Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys im new here.... As in like just a few hours old type new lol.

I am looking to purchase in the next month or 2, waiting on taxes. It will be my first time dealing with a real dealership. I test drove a 2018 ST3 w/Carbon Fiber package last night and loved it!
Not my color of choice and the salesman says he cant (or wont, not sure) go lower than $26,000. Started it up for the test drive, 6 miles on odometer, went 3 miles and for some reason when we parked it back at lot (9 miles on odo now) it was smoking slightly from under the hood. Salesman tried telling me its from them changing the oil. I am a service technician and i smell bull****?!? No reason to change oil when there is less than 3k miles, much less 10 ya know?

Anyways, I am thinking of going Certified PreOwned.... I found my colors i want, exact package i fell in love with, and only 4000+ miles on the odo for $8,000 less. Just a little over 1,000 miles away. Im caught between Tangerine Scream and Hot Pepper Red.

Can i get some insight and/or advice?

Thanks in advance!
Pic is of test driven ST3 next to my wifes Volvo in Baton Rouge

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,152 Posts
$26k for an ST3 is a really good deal.
The smoking sounds pretty normal for a really fresh engine in a brand new car, just lubricants and stuff burning off probably. Plus you know it hasn't been beat on yet and you can break it in properly.

I won't comment on what color you should get, but the cert. preowned deals sound good too.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh i didnt know that'd be normal. Thats the newest thing i have ever driven for myself outside of doing Inspections.

·
Premium Member
358 Posts
I bought that same car as a 2015 model with 21,000 miles on it in January 2017 for $21,500. I think a brand spanking new version of my car for $26,000 would be worth it. sounds like a great deal to me!

·