Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I’m fairly new to the st world. I got my 2014 focus st3 in October 2020 for $14k. 69k miles and came with Cobb accessport, stage 3 bolt on, and cpe Intercooler. I’m still trying to get used to how the car runs I came from a ‘19 Altima and before a 2010 Tacoma so I’m new to “fast” cars lol. Anyone have any advice on what to do and what not to do? Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
28 Posts
I'm a new owner of a 2014 ST3 too. My car had 87K miles and two days after I bought it the purge valve went out. Apart from that I've been having no issues and a lot of fun with it. Enjoy it!

·
Registered
2013 ST2, AGP BWS turbo, SP63 block
233 Posts
I'm not really a new owner anymore but still within my first year of ST. My ST2 had 105,000 on it when i bought it and so far I've broke the Dual Mass Fly Wheel, slave cylinder, shift fork, and the turbo went bad.

But don't worry. This wont happen to you. I can trace the turbo back to the previous owner's bad garage choice and the clutch failure back to a flawed ford design + rough driving.

I would highly recommend 2 things.
1) get JPC braided clutch line. The stock clutch line has a directional restrictor and this is largely the reason my transmission stuff went bad. It makes for very soft/slow clutch response. Combine slow clutch response with high miles, clutch drops, and a weak fly wheel and things are bound to get ugly. People with JPC braided line have far more miles on the stock clutch with less problems.
2) Do not high boost in low rpms. Do not. DOOOO NOT. If you see a little boost on the highway in 6th that's fine, but do not try to hit 26 psi before 2,000 rpm.

·
Registered
374 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Mine failed after 85K miles so I dont know if I should complain..
I guess 105k is alright then haha.