Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been running Ford Racing springs with Bilstein B8's for 4+ years and over 50K miles. Recently I started noticing that the car seems to sit lower than it used to, especially at the front. The ride feels more harsh too, though it might have something to do with our crappy Illinois roads... I didn't take any ride height measurements back when springs were new, so can't really compare the numbers. So, question is - how long do the springs usually last, particularly lowering springs? Is it expected to get lower ride height and more rough ride with time?

·
Registered
565 Posts
Springs last more than 5 years, so I'd be looking at your shocks rather than the springs.

·
Super Moderator
6,550 Posts
I've been running Ford Racing springs with Bilstein B8's for 4+ years and over 50K miles. Recently I started noticing that the car seems to sit lower than it used to, especially at the front. The ride feels more harsh too, though it might have something to do with our crappy Illinois roads... I didn't take any ride height measurements back when springs were new, so can't really compare the numbers. So, question is - how long do the springs usually last, particularly lowering springs? Is it expected to get lower ride height and more rough ride with time?
Shocks/Struts will not effect your ride height, that would be springs. Springs would not have much effect on deteriorating ride quality, that would probably be the dampers. Bilsteins are pretty much bullet proof, but, well warrantied if the need rebuilding.

·
Registered
565 Posts
Shocks/Struts will not effect your ride height, that would be springs.
I think you'll find that gas charged shocks/struts do affect ride height and Bilsteins are gas charged. Shocks are always more of a wear item than springs unless the springs are defective.

·
Super Moderator
6,550 Posts