Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've spent many hours researching how to plug wires into other wires and scouring forums and slowly but surely eventually got all the parts I thought I needed to install a bangin' stereo. Then the DSR-1 came out the day after, so I dumped a pile of money into it since it would be easier than going the LC6-i route with the resistors and adding fuses and chopping factory wires. Anyway, I got the DSR-1, my PDX V9, and Alpine Type R components in the doors at the beginning of October and tried putting in the sub last week. I'm still an electronics noob if there ever was one, so I'm having several issues.
The issues:
1. Tremendous static. Even when the radio is off, the speakers still emit tons of static.
2. Speakers pop when the car itself turns on, not the radio. Then again when the radio turns off unless I switch it to a source without an input such as CD and lower the volume to 0.
3. When I turn on the radio, it blares the last source for half a second before returning to the volume it was at last time I used it, unless I have it set to a source with no input, i.e. CD. In that case, it just pings.
4. Subwoofer does not work. Could be the DSR-1, could be the V9, definitely is not my wiring because it is perfect. Probably not, but I followed the instructions from Maestro. The sub is the same 10 year old sub I had in my car in high school. My multimeter says it's still resisting at 2 ohms. No idea if that means it's still good, but I imagine it would still move if it were getting power even if it is sickly or dead.
5. The GPS lady, bluetooth ring tone and text tone are loud as bleep and startle me every time. I set the DSR-1 to play voice controls through the front speakers only and that helped a little.