Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to being an ST owner, got mine back in Sept of this year and have loved every minute of it.

Anyways, a friend of mine also has an ST and I happen to go for a drive with him the other day in his car. As we were driving I noticed how he would shift. Every gear he would stay in that gear till 5500-6000rpm every single time he would shift through the gears.
For myself, unless I am attempting to do a pull, I will normally shift 2500-3500 most times. I guess my question is, is there a right and wrong way? Am I just babying the car too much or is he doing a little too much?

·
Registered
70 Posts
I would say he is a bit aggressive. Only do that once the car is warm. Perhaps your friend has shares in oil companies....:unsure:
It could be that he is advertising for the exhaust he has installed....Perhaps he's sponsored by them?

When the car is cold it is best to not flat foot accelerate. Roll into boost gradually.
That being said every car needs the carbon burned out of it.

There are some good articles about these 2.0L and there weaknesses especially in the pistons. They give reasons why to let these motor warm up. Although you should let every motor warm up properly before you play.

I liked this article:

·
Registered
2017 Focus ST-3
34 Posts
Maximum power is generally around the 5000-5500 rpm mark and that's about where the torque starts to drop off sharply. If you need maximum acceleration that's where you should be. If not, then there's no need to be stressing the engine and wasting fuel.

·
Super Moderator
7,881 Posts
Hello, I am new to being an ST owner, got mine back in Sept of this year and have loved every minute of it.