Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whats everyone's feelings on the drive up ramps? Safe?

Im a full time student currently and life in a small apartment. I don't want to go out and buy Floor Jack and Jack stands as I don't do enough to warrant them, and I own a set, just not with me currently. So I was thinking about going and buying a set of the drive on ramps.

·
Registered
613 Posts
I have ramps, 3 floor jacks, trans jack and 4 jackstands... I use all of them for different situations.

Ramps are great for oil changes and things where you don't need to remove the wheels. Not that jack/stands is difficult, but ramps are super quick and easy, which is their big advantage IMO.

If you could only have 1.... I'd do jack/stands for sure, but sounds like you already own a set. I wouldn't hesitate to get some ramps. I would get the wider option/model, just for better support of a wide range of vehicles down the road.

·
Registered
91 Posts
LOL, I started a thread on this about a week ago. Got some opinions on ramps and ordered a set of Rhino Ramps. Another brand that got mention was Race Ramps. Personally I've got the whole set-up now. Ramps for fluid changes etc, and a hydraulic jack for other work. I'm going to order a set of the bolt on jacking rails as well. :)

Link to the other thread if you want to read through it

http://www.focusst.org/forum/focus-st-maintenance/85025-car-ramps-anyone.html

·
Registered
1,817 Posts
Race Ramps... yes pricey but one set of ramps and done. I have 56" so good for very low cars, 2 piece so ramp can be removed when working under the car. Very nice albeit expensive, think I paid ~125$

·
Registered
613 Posts
I have rhino ramps.. race ramps are too expensive for me. If you have a really really low car sure. But you can also put some 2x6s or similar in front of the rhino ramps to increase clearance.

·
Registered
31 Posts