Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
660 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got my AP yesterday and started setting it up.
I got it all sorted, firmware updated and made sure I had the v204 maps ready to go.
I did the stage 0 after install and ran a data log using the default parameters selected.
I'm not an expert but I've looked at a few datalogs. I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary that would indicate a mechanical issue.
So I went ahead and installed stage 1 v204.

I'm coming from the Speed 3 world and that thing was a ticking time bomb by comparison to this car. So I'm always a little paranoid about what's going on in real time. AFR and boost are obvious things to see and realize when something's wrong, but I'm curious about some of the other parameters...

I'm not sure if this ECU works in a similar fashion, but some things I learned from the speed were that fuel trims should usually be as low as possible. High trims (+ or -) usually indicate a vacuum leak of some kind or something wrong with fueling itself. I've already noticed my trims on this car a very low most of the time regardless of the map. On the speed they usually 0d out when you went WOT - Not sure about the ST....

The big number on the speed to watch was KR on the speed - knock retard. The actual timing (degrees) the ecu would pull because of detected knock.
I'm guessing this is ign correction on this car? I see there are several parameters called knock something - knock count for each cylinder, knock PI DET Rate, and then knock sensor 1 and 2. I tried the knock sensor and it comes up with some value that I think was in the 20's. I don't know what I'm looking at. ign corr seems to be like KR on the speed???

Any insight would be greatly appreciated :)
Reading through this sum-forum I feel like the tuners on here seem to answer more than anyone from Cobb.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,878 Posts