Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the risk of sounding like a total noob I have a pretty simple question about intakes in general on this platform. I find the stock ST to be too quiet and I don't like the sounds symposer very much. I'd prefer to just delete the sound symposer and get some natural intake noise audible from the cabin. What I'd like to know is how much of the noise from a CAI is attributable to the filter vs. how much is a result of the tube? I'm trying to figure out if I should just start with a filter like the Green filter with an open end, or whether I should just go ahead with the full intake since they include the filter anyway.

To be clear, I'm not looking for or expecting any performance gains from whatever intake system I go with. Also if it is relevant, I'd prefer an intake that maintains the stock airbox that the filter sits in, and I would prefer to keep the top on, so I'm not really considering any of the completely open filter setups. I'd most likely go for something like the Cobb design with a simple tube that routes to the stock filter location.

·
Premium Member
3,725 Posts
At the risk of sounding like a total noob I have a pretty simple question about intakes in general on this platform. I find the stock ST to be too quiet and I don't like the sounds symposer very much. I'd prefer to just delete the sound symposer and get some natural intake noise audible from the cabin. What I'd like to know is how much of the noise from a CAI is attributable to the filter vs. how much is a result of the tube? I'm trying to figure out if I should just start with a filter like the Green filter with an open end, or whether I should just go ahead with the full intake since they include the filter anyway.