Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 170 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,663 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to start a thread on music, where I have experience playing/teaching/recording and perhaps can give a bit back to this great community. Even if you aren't a musician, everyone loves music and has something interesting to share. But hopefully we can also have heady discussions and learn from one another. So all questions and opinions are welcome, everyone can contribute whatever and whenever. I listen to a lot of old music but as a guitarist I like virtuosity and these guys are some of my recent favs:

·
Premium Member
1,663 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Premium Member
1,663 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Classic grunge, haven't heard Lake of Fire in probably decades!
I liked Curt Kirkwood's tone best when he was using Soldano amps. But they are pretty expensive ($3-4K) as one of the first boutique builds. If you want a decent cheap alternative, Mike Soldano designed the T50c and T100c for Yamaha before launching his own line of amps. They can be had for about $500 and if you upgrade to an evidence audio speaker cable and/or a closed speaker cab, the cleans sound crisp and clear and the drive saturation is thick and juicy but maintains good chord clarity. That's what I've done w/ my t50c and it's a keeper.

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
They've got some nice bounce.
Gotta love Swedish Punk. Don't know what it is I like so much about it :wink:

This was their first 'hit' back when MTV still played music.. lol
They broke-up and did a reunion and couple albums around 2002ish.

Have you ever seen anyone use a belt around the waist to hold the guitar?

·
Premium Member
1,663 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I'll see you're BB King, and raise you some Link Wray :money:
Love Link Wray, I teach The Rumble to a lot of beginners, not many chords and it's all about attitude. I play Apache every now and again as an instrumental interlude while the singer takes a whiz.

·
Registered