Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

After much thought and especially test driving with various cars, such as the Mazda 3 MPS/Mazdaspeed and other "hot hatches", I decided to go for the Focus ST MK3 Wagon. This is because it offers me the best of both worlds: I want a performance car with which I can still do road trips and occasionally sleep in the car. That is possible in a Focus Wagon for me.

In terms of budget (14-15k Euro) I will be looking at an MK3 with max. 140,000km. Now I wonder if the ST has specific points that I should pay attention to with buying a second-hand to avoid high costs afterwards. I have little experience with cars in terms of mechanics, but motorcycles hold few secrets for me, so I am not completely untrained in terms of mechanics. I know that with such performance cars, for example, the turbo is always a point of attention. For example, the Mazda 3 MPS has a weak stock turbo, which will smoke at idle if it is worn out. The timing chain (VVT) also often needs to be replaced around 150,000 km which costs around 1000 euros. I also know that a complete maintenance history is preferred and that the car is as good as stock. So no messy modifications that could potentially damage the engine. I also want to see that the owner is an enthusiast and therefore gave the car all the love. He must therefore be able to tell everything about his car.

So in short: does the Focus ST MK3 have specific things I should pay attention to?

Thank you all very much!

·
Super Moderator
2014 ST3. Garrett GTX2860R Gen 2. FBO
7,196 Posts
Not many super common issues in stock form, its a pretty stout platform. If its been tuned or you're unsure of the tuning history, you'll want to make sure you get a compression test performed. These engines crack ringlands when LSPi'ed or outright abused. There are a few good topics here on LSPi.