Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any opinions on how a roof bike rack vs a rear bike rack will effect my cars handling?

·
Registered
408 Posts
I have a trunk mounted bike rack and i hate it. I feel like the bikes are going to fall off at every turn. Roof racks are expensive but they are worth the money for that extra security. You also got tow hitch bike racks but i have zero experience with those.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yeah I have both roof and trunk.. trying to decide which one to keep. Trunk is better for gas mileage

·
Registered
30 Posts
As someone that had a rack on the back of their car, I could secure it, but I don't like the marks it left on my last car.

As I get my focus, I think I am going to go for the trailer hitch and rear bike rack - less aero drag when you're not carrying something (as the bike carrier isn't installed, but the bars and rails up top are always installed), and you have the option to add a small trailer for a kayak, canoe, or platform for a cooler.

But I am open to hearing that on top is better for some reason.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I think the best option for this car is to purchase a curt hitch and buy a hitch mount rack like a oneup. You have no wind noise or MPG loss from a roof rack and you can still use your hatch.

-Tmoney12

20160825_193144.jpg

·
Registered
2016 Kona Blue ST3
526 Posts
I have a Yakima KingJoe 3 for my other car and while I do like it, I'd much rather have a roof rack. I had to settle for the trunk mount because finding a roof rack for a 7th-gen Celica is nigh impossible, and the one or two that are out there are obscenely expensive.