Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just what the Title says. Is their a way? The reason why I got this idea is because my father got the new 911.2 base Carrera and that car like the focus st has a sound symposer. The sound that came from it's symposer sounded a lot like the focus st in terms of nature of the sound, but the Porsche had a different tone. Obviously, their are differences in the intake sides of the two cars, but what about a 5 cylinder sound through the symposer.

For reference, I am a complete amateur when it comes to how the symposer gets it sound. Please forgive my lack of knowledge on how they work.:question:

·
Registered
532 Posts
The symposer is a pipe connected to the intake manifold, with a little valve to let sound in (or not). You can only control volume.

·
Registered
2,754 Posts
Just what the Title says. Is their a way? The reason why I got this idea is because my father got the new 911.2 base Carrera and that car like the focus st has a sound symposer. The sound that came from it's symposer sounded a lot like the focus st in terms of nature of the sound, but the Porsche had a different tone. Obviously, their are differences in the intake sides of the two cars, but what about a 5 cylinder sound through the symposer.

For reference, I am a complete amateur when it comes to how the symposer gets it sound. Please forgive my lack of knowledge on how they work.:question:
The largest reason it has a different tone ... is the different engine. You are basically piping engine noise .. through a hose ... to the firewall. The valve opens to add noise to the cabin during harder acceleration. Best thing I did to the car in the beginning was to rip that whole unit out the day i put on my exhaust. With an aftermarket exhaust, its far too boomy and causes quite a lot of drone where its not needed.

·
Registered
25 Posts