Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My area only has 92 Octane premium. Can I run the 93 Octane tune on my stage 2.5?

Is there a particular humber I should keep an eye on in the Cobb Accessport to make sure timing isn't being retarded as a result of the 1 point lower Octane?

·
Registered
477 Posts
Watch your "octane adjust ratio learned" (OAR). It starts at 0.0 and will move up to 1.0 if you use good fuel that is the correct octane. I'm no expert, but you might be able to get there on 92. Some people add a gallon of e85 for a little octane boost, so that may help.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Watch your "octane adjust ratio learned" (OAR). It starts at 0.0 and will move up to 1.0 if you use good fuel that is the correct octane. I'm no expert, but you might be able to get there on 92. Some people add a gallon of e85 for a little octane boost, so that may help.
Good to know! I just googled, and it looks like according to Cobb, it should actually be -1.0 optimally. Unfortunately there is no E85 within an hour of me :/

·
Super Moderator
2017 Ford Fusion Sport
8,198 Posts
No, you cannot run a lower octane than what your tune calls for.
This ^

You can go higher, not lower.

Going higher leaves headroom for your car to have plenty of octane to work with and never have to compensate, having lower means your car has to adjust and compensate for that..which is hard on the car considering it's tuned to run a powerful calibration with MORE octane. Don't risk it.

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
And indeed even some 93 is not quite 93 as far as the tune may be concerned.

Want some safety? Run 93 gas with a 91 tune.

But NEVER run a tune that requires a higher (R+M)/2 octane than what you have a available.

Mark

·
Premium Member
2,837 Posts
Short answer... No, you cannot.