Ford Focus ST Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm new to the Focus scene and this forum so bear with me. I just bought a new 2017 Focus ST3 less than a week ago and I am thrilled with the car overall, I absolutely love it. The one thing I am disappointed with is the sound, particularly the subwoofer. I am very much into metal music so I love feeling those kick drums in my chest. Unfortunately, despite all the tinkering I did within the Sync 3 system, I get very little from this sound system. I get more of a sloppy bass sound, as opposed to nice, tight kicks. Using an equalizer on my phone (playing music via bluetooth) helps, but it still underachieves. It's sad because my 2009 Escape XLS, which is as minimal as you can get, easily out-performs my ST3's sound, at least when it comes to the subwoofer's performance. I'm not looking for anything crazy, just something that provides that tight kicking sound. Is this a known issue with these ST's? If so, do I have any practical upgrade options?

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Look into the DSR-1, and get rid of that Sony amp back there. It is the culprit. Sadly, it uses equalization reduction on the low end to protect the low-quality speakers Ford chose. A decent set of speakers, 5 channel amp, and the DSR-1 is the answer, albeit not the cheap nor easy one.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Yup, there is some seriously bad acoustic engineering done on the factory Sony Amp that cannot be changed, and ruins everything. Replace that, with a Rocford Fosgate DSR1 and add a proper amp, will fix a lot of the shortcomings of the sound system. I have no idea what the guys/gals were smoking when they did the tuning on that thing. It's utter crap.

·
Registered
1,699 Posts