Ford myColor system question
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    FST Member Sir__Awesome's Avatar
    is is loving the tuxedo black!
     

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Akron, OH
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ford myColor system question

    Has anyone tapped into the myColor system on the ST-3 models? I was interested in trying to add additional lights to the interior but I want them to function with the lighting controller in the console

  2. #2
    I spend too much of my life on FST! angrychair's Avatar
    is a Spector Bassist
     

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    424
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    good question, haven't seen it pop up
    '16 RR ST2: 2600 miles
    Cobb Air Filter
    Turbosmart BOV
    JDL Catback no resonator
    JBR PCV OCC
    JBR Symposer Delete
    Boosted Designs Dead Pedal
    Garage Line Hoodstruts
    Rokblokz
    "The Stubby" antenna
    Sto N Sho License Plate mount
    LED cornering and Fog lamps

  3. #3
    FST Member Mark66's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Huh never heard of that. I'm gonna dig now

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    FST Senior Member hawkeye18's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IIRC the lights run on a 4-wire system - individual wires for R, G, B, and ground. As you change the color it's going to adjust the voltage on the lines to make up a 0-255 scale, with 255 I think being 12v.

    I don't know of many RGB LEDs that work that way, but then again I haven't ever really messed around with RGB LEDs, so there could be a ton and I just don't know.

  5. #5
    FST Senior Member 1LoudST's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    with LEDs, you don't control the voltage as much as you are keeping the voltage the same and using PWM to quickly cut power on and off to get the led to look as bright or dim as needed. while I was looking at my wife's Escape Ti, the LED system looked like it was not the normal R, G, B, and 12v wire that most RGB led strips you can get used. then I ended up getting a ST2 so I had to make up my own RGB system and it works so much better and brighter.

  6. #6
    FST Member Mark66's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Arggh ford Australia don't have this on their focus cars we get ripped off here even though it shows this on ford Australia website

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Mark66; 05-19-2017 at 02:56 PM.

 

 

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How to change the Wallpaper on the My Ford Touch system
    By STdan in forum Focus ST Electronics
    Replies: 153
    Last Post: 10-06-2016, 01:31 AM
  2. Hands-On With Ford’s New Sync 3 Infotainment System
    By ST2Focus in forum Focus ST Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-03-2015, 11:31 AM
  3. Sound System Question...
    By CallMeWhateverIDC in forum Focus ST Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 07:15 AM
  4. Fuel System Question
    By LOLMS3 in forum Focus ST Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-14-2014, 04:35 PM
  5. 2013-14 MY Ford OBD system operations
    By jdub1981 in forum Focus ST Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-15-2014, 01:28 PM
Find us on Google+