Simple instructions for hard-wiring a radar detector or other device
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 27 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 265
Like Tree67Likes

Thread: Simple instructions for hard-wiring a radar detector or other device

  1. #1
    FST Senior Member N2Focus's Avatar
    is looking for an excuse to
    drive.
     

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Simple instructions for hard-wiring a radar detector or other device

    These are simple instructions for hard-wiring a two-wire (no remote screen or mute) radar detector in just a few minutes without removing any trim panels.

    I am using a Whistler CR85 which comes with a set of hard-wiring wires in the box with a 2 amp in-line fuse.

    What you'll need:

    • Mini add-a-circuit fuse kit (any auto parts store)
    • A 2 or 3 amp mini fuze (depending on the RD - check the fuse inside the cigarette lighter plug)
    • Needle-nose pliers or a fuse puller.
    • A set of wire crimpers to connect your RD power wire to the Add-a-Circuit
    • A 5/16 inch wrench.
    • Opposable thumbs.



    1) Mount the radar detector to the windshield under the mirror. This is the ideal location. You have the least obstruction from pillars in the car to maximize your range and the optical height for radar and laser.

    2) Pull the power wire straight up and gently pull down the headliner and begin to tuck the power wire behind it. You should not be pulling loose any type of glue or fasteners. Continue to tuck all the way to the passenger A-pillar.

    3) The plastic trim for the A-pillar overlaps the headliner material. Your wire will come out underneath the headliner. Tuck the power wire DOWN over the top of the plastic trim piece. Again, no un-fastening of any clips.

    4) Follow across just a few inches and you'll come to the rubber gasket for the passenger door. Simply lift it away and tuck the wire behind that rubber, following it all the way down the door to the level of the bottom of the dash.

    6) Remove the passenger fuse panel cover by removing the two nipples that hold it on.

    5) There is the seam of another piece of trim. Tuck your wire UP underneath that seam and over the to the left where it will come out under the dash into the fuse box compartment.

    7) Use the 7/16 in wrench to loosen the bolt that secures the lower dash. You can ground here. Tighten it back.

    8) Follow the instructions for the Add-a-Circuit to connect your wire to fuse 85 on the fuse block. This is the fuse for the heated seats and will only receive power then the ignition is on.

    9) Tie your wires back and replace the cover.

    Done.

    See photos.

    Name:  RD01.jpg
Views: 10104
Size:  1.98 MBName:  RD02.jpg
Views: 10010
Size:  1.30 MBName:  RD03.jpg
Views: 9817
Size:  1.74 MBName:  RD04.jpg
Views: 10183
Size:  2.73 MBName:  RD05.jpg
Views: 13220
Size:  2.07 MB

  2. #2
    FST Senior Member 13FocusST's Avatar
    is Counting days until next track
    event
     

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nicely done -Thanks for taking the time to do this- great info!
    N2Focus likes this.
    Tuxedo Black 2013 - ST3 / Moonroof
    Ford Racing CAI / Ford Racing Short Throw Shifter / Window Tint / Steeda Stage 2 Tune
    Steeda FMIC /Steeda Throttle Body Spacer / Steeda Intake Spacer / Steeda Intake Tube / Wilwood Brake Upgrade / TurboSmart Dual Port BOV

  3. #3
    The Mod with a Mouth ST3 4 ME's Avatar
    Premium Member
    is not playing by the rules
     

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    9,495
    Mentioned
    177 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    this is good for a dash cam also!

  4. #4
    FST Senior Member N2Focus's Avatar
    is looking for an excuse to
    drive.
     

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hope it's helpful. I saw lots of people nervous about removing the A-pillar trim when it's not even necessary..

    Now I need a dark gray adhesive track to hide the wire against the glass.

  5. #5
    The Mod with a Mouth ST3 4 ME's Avatar
    Premium Member
    is not playing by the rules
     

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    9,495
    Mentioned
    177 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by N2Focus View Post
    Hope it's helpful. I saw lots of people nervous about removing the A-pillar trim when it's not even necessary..

    Now I need a dark gray adhesive track to hide the wire against the glass.
    what about putting it in the headliner

  6. #6
    FST Senior Member N2Focus's Avatar
    is looking for an excuse to
    drive.
     

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ST3 4 ME View Post
    what about putting it in the headliner
    I mean from the device itself up to the headliner.

  7. #7
    FST Senior Member pmadruga's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Stevensville, MI
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice, thanks for the write up.

  8. #8
    FST Noob! Alienrite's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thanks

    Install worked perfect and took about 10 minutes.
    deadmoo likes this.

  9. #9
    FST Senior Member N2Focus's Avatar
    is looking for an excuse to
    drive.
     

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Alienrite View Post
    Install worked perfect and took about 10 minutes.
    Glad it worked well for you!

  10. #10
    FST Senior Member casanova-garage's Avatar
    This user has no status.
     

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a quick question.. Don't police in the states have Radar Detector Detectors?

    I am asking from the point of view of someone living in Australia.

 

 
Page 1 of 27 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Hard wiring a radar detector
    By jaross in forum Focus ST Electronics
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: 11-16-2014, 07:51 PM
  2. the Radar Detector goes where?
    By apexracer in forum Focus ST Accessories
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 04:08 PM
  3. Best Radar Detector for the money
    By Greenz in forum Focus ST Performance
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 06-04-2013, 12:00 PM
  4. Radar Detector mounting question
    By swil in forum Focus ST Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-21-2013, 01:08 PM
  5. Radar detector?
    By tallarrs1 in forum Focus ST Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2013, 08:19 PM

Search tags for this page

2016 ford focus cigarette lighter fuse
,
can you wire in a dasjcam on a new ford focus
,

focus st radar detector

,

hardwire radar detector

,
hardwired radar
,
simple radar circuit
,
smakn dc/dc converter how to wire
,
usb powered radar detector
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Find us on Google+