Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: ST and winter driving

This user has no status.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ST and winter driving

I am new to this forum, but I have been a Ford enthusiast for many years, particularly with Mustangs. I am a forum admin on Mustang forum. I have owned a 98 GT and I currently have supercharged/intercooled 01 GT pushing about 430-440 RWHP. I live in area where snow is commonplace in the winter, so I only get to drive the Mustang from Spring through Fall.

My current DD is a modified 2006 Mazdaspeed6 pushing about 290-300 WHP. So, I am also familiar with the direct injected turbo cars. So, as it comes time to replace my DD, I am looking for a fun car, that can be driven through the elements. I am interested in the ST, but FWD does concern me a bit. I put snow tires on my AWD Mazdaspeed6 and I can just go about through anything. I would put snow tires on the ST, but I am concerned that I may be taking a step back from AWD. I'd like to to get some input from those who drive their ST in the snow as to how it handles. Where I live we get lake effect snow and can really get dumped on in short period of time. Thanks in advance for you input. Below are pics of my cars for anyone that cares.

2006 Mazdaspeed6:

Name:  kazera01.jpg
Views: 909
Size:  112.3 KB

Name:  ets02.jpg
Views: 830
Size:  85.9 KB

2001 Mustang GT:

Name:  gt-07-c.jpg
Views: 834
Size:  96.4 KB

Name:  engine01.jpg
Views: 850
Size:  148.4 KB

I spend too much of my life on FST! gp177's Avatar
    This user has no status.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    90% of winter driving is the tires. Put good snows on (even at 8 inches of width) and you can drive through anything.

I've had no problems in a MA winter.

is One week / 500 miles.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)